The mission and goal of the Village is to provide a semi-rural living environment for the residents and provide necessary services while maintaining a low and affordable tax rate. The Village continues to accomplish this goal through proper land use planning containing the appropriate mix of residential, business, agriculture and open space. The Village Board believes strongly in the need for cooperative intergovernmental efforts.

The Village of Waukesha is located in south-central **Waukesha County**, on the outer perimeter of the **City of Waukesha**, approximately 50 minutes east of Madison and 20 minutes west of Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

Since 1958, the Village Hall offices and fire station have been located on a 10-acre parcel at **W250S3567 Center Road,** just south of Sunset Drive and north of STH 59. The Village of Waukesha, originally named the Town of Prairieville and located in Milwaukee County, has been in existence since 1842 with the original Town Hall located at East and Wisconsin Avenues in what is now downtown Waukesha. In 2020, the Town successfully incorporated into a Village.

The Village of Waukesha's Government consists of:

- An elected five (5) person Board of Trustees
- An appointed Village Clerk/Treasurer
- A Plan Commission, Zoning Board of Appeals, and Fire Commission

As of January 1, 2023, the Demographic Services Center reports the population for the Village of Waukesha in Waukesha County is 8,471. The Village offices which are handicap accessible, are staffed with a Clerk/Treasurer. The Village has a Public Works Department with two full-time employees and one part-time employee. The Fire Department also providing rescue service has a full-time Fire Chief, a Firefighter/EMT/Fire Inspector and around 40 paid-on-call personnel. The entire Village of Waukesha is within the **School District of Waukesha**.

